But What About Zin the Ripper…?

I’ve had a lot of people who’ve read EVERFOUND ask me what ever happened to Zin, and why she wasn’t in the book.  The thing is, there was a problem bringing her back into the story. Now that Zin was in the living world, and had no power to see, or connect with Everlost — and with the only characters who cared about her trapped in other situations (Johnny-O on the Hindenburg, and Nick with no memory of himself), bringing Zin back would have been completely artificial, and forced.  I had Johnny-O thinking about her at one point, but made the conscious decision to delete it, because all he could do was the same thing fans were doing — wonder what happened to her, which only implied that I would bring her back — which was impossible, since the story did not bring any of our characters near Memphis, except for Jix, near the beginning, but in a city of millions of people, it would have been unrealistic for the cat that Jix was skinjacking to randomly run into her.

In a story where reality is already stretched, it is very important that the logic of the real world not be cheated.  What makes a story like the skinjacker trilogy compelling, is that you can almost believe it.  That’s because I never cheat real world logic.  The real world is still the real world, and the characters, even though they’re going through extraordinary and supernatural things, still behave, think, and feel like real people.  For all of these reasons, it was simply impossible to bring Zin back, just like it was impossible to bring Lief back after the first book.

BUT – FEAR NOT!  I can tell you exactly what happened to her… and since I’m the one who made her up, it must be right! :)

She was taken in as a foster child by the same family that had her dog.  Although she had a hard time adjusting in school, and learning to read and write, she was a wiz when it came to American History.  Every year she participates in the reenactment  of the civil war — which they actually do.  She falls in love with a boy fighting for the north, but they only get to see each other once a year during the reenactment. Finally, after ten years, of this, a truce between the north and south is declared just so they can get married.  They plan to someday buy a house that’s built right on the Mason-Dixon line.  

10 Responses to “But What About Zin the Ripper…?”

  1. Emma B. Says:

    I always wondered what happened to her, but I agree with you not putting her in Everfound. I wouldn’t make sense. And I love the little story about what happened to her. I also thought I should go all fan girl, and tell you that I loved the Everlost series, and thought it had one of the most perfect endings of any series I’ve ever read :).

  2. Nichole Folkman Says:

    This is so cool! Thanks! My students LOVE your books. I just recently bought “Unwind” for our classroom library. It’s already making the rounds.

    I really appreciate that you stick to real world logic. I agree that it does make it seem almost real- that’s part of what I love most about it and what I put in my GoodReads review!

  3. Ehsan Says:

    Mr. Shusterman, I just wanted to tell you how awesome it is that you’re such an involved author.

    I think I’ve seen your posts/responses/replies to readers on 7 different websites so far.

    That fact that you actually listen to your readers and answer our questions is super appreciated.

    Keep writing amazing stories, you’re one of my favorite authors, and I can’t wait to read what you release next.

    P.S. Unwind and Skinjacker Trilogy have been my favorites out of all of your books (I’ve read almost all of them). And Skinjacker is definitely in my top 10 series of all time. Thanks again for writing such terrific books.

  4. Ashley Says:

    I am so sad that there aren’t any more books. However, I think you should make one of Mary’s or Allie’s “books” into a real book. I think it would be very cool.

  5. E.w.lewis Says:

    NO, can you bring zin back in another book! best. chater. ever.

    repnd at: E.W.lewis@hotmail.com

  6. heather :) Says:

    Hey i just finished the unwind book and it is one of the best books i have ever read. next im going to read ever found.

  7. Ashley Says:

    You are like the best author ever!!! All of your books are so good! My favorite is Unwind and I can’t wait to read the sequel! Usually only some of an authors books are actually really good, but all of the books of yours that i’ve read have been really good. I just wanted you to know how great they all are. Please keep writing. :D

  8. heather :) Says:

    the book ever found is a good book i am in the middel of the book but i would not read it agian. it is good but not grate. i wouldent read it in a class i hope we dont. well that is just my oppinen has any bode els read it if you have how did you like it and what do you think of it. : )

  9. heather :) Says:

    Hey how many people have to get up at 5:00 in the morning for school.

  10. Paige Says:

    I was thinking a lot about Unwind and Everlost and thought “maybe they could be connected” So I was wondering if you were unwound, would you go to Everlost and be able to skinjack since you aren’t really dead?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

