Banding Together…

I attended a surreal concert on Halloween (is there any other). The band was Dead Mans Party — an Oingo Boingo tribute band. They were pretty good. But what made it surreal was the opening act. A guy called Elviss Simmons. He was a fat Elvis personator in KISS make up.elviss
He sang KISS songs the way Elvis would have, and Elvis songs the way KISS would have. Very bizarre.

But then I started thinking why stop there?  There are so many performers and bands out there it would be much more efficient if they could be genetically combined. So I’ve put
together a sample list for you:

Black sABBAth. Featuring the musical stylings of Ozzie Osbjörn.
“You can dance, you can jive… and bite off the head of a bat…”

And considering the fact that geography is being cut from most high school curriculums, why not combine all those geographical bands into Bosto-Chicag-Alabam-Kansa-Berlin?

For those of you who like abbreviations, R.E.M.E.L.O.
(“That’s me in the corner, losing my Evil Woman…”)

And isn’t it about time we combined hip-hop with 80’s pop by creating Soulja Boy George?

Eminem Mraz?  Because most candy is made by that company anyway.

Oingo Bono.
“It’s a deadman party ,who could ask for more?
But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for.”

Nickelbackstreet Boys. ‘Nuff said.

Performing for Thanksgiving we have The Cranberry-Byrds.

For some latin flavor tastefully blended with a fine female songstress, we have Medudodido.

And last, but not least, we have the dark, brooding, yet fashionably neurotic sounds of  Jim Morrisette.

(This is the end. Isn’t it ironic?)

5 Responses to “Banding Together…”

  1. Crystal Allen Says:

    Neal,

    Back away from the computer….

  2. Lindsey Morris Says:

    Strangely enough…this made my day! I’m glad to know I’m not the only person in the universe who has incredibly random thoughts…lol =)

  3. Claire Lazerson Says:

    I like Cranberry-Byrds the best.

  4. miclman Says:

    I agree completely…perfect end to a neuortic day! (I teach). I will make this a FUN journal project for my students…will post what the kiddos come up with!

  5. Olivia Says:

    I liked the Nickelback Street Boys. That’s awesome! And Eminem Mraz.

Leave a Reply

