First Review of EVERFOUND!!!

Kirkus has given EVERFOUND  a STARRED REVIEW!  Needless to say, I’m thrilled!  Here’s the review!

 

Kirkus, 4/15/11

Shusterman ends his provocative trilogy with a rock-solid adventure that manages to examine deep questions of faith and morality.

At the end of Everwild (2009), Nick the Chocolate Ogre had dissolved into a mass of chocolate pudding, Mary Hightower was asleep in a glass coffin waiting to be reborn, Allie the Outcast was strapped to the front of a runaway train and Mikey McGill (formerly the monstrous McGill) was searching for a way to rescue her. The adventures continue, with Mexican Afterlight Jix joining the cast of characters as a furjacker, slipping into the bodies of giant cats as he spies on Mary’s army for the Mayan King. The rules of Everlost are unique, catering to the children who go there upon death and wait until they are ready to go into the light. But even those rules can be overset with the introduction of Clarence, the scar wraith, whose touch can extinguish anyone out of existence—forever. Alliances form and melt as characters decide between their own self-interest and what is right; the shifting third-person perspective gives readers glimpses into everybody’s souls.

Rich in detail, with exceptional characterization and shot through with unexpected (and very necessary) humor, this is an engrossing and thoroughly satisfying ending to a unique saga of life after death.

 

26 Responses to “First Review of EVERFOUND!!!”

  1. Dawn Says:

    WHEN does this come out!?!?!

  2. Caitie Says:

    this just made my day! Not only have i been waiting for this book… FOREVER it feels like, it comes out right before my birthday! Perfect!
    And more characters? AWESOME!… but i will miss nick 😐
    it’s a bittersweet kind of feeling.
    Can’t wait to get more updates!

    ~Caitie

  3. Some Books I’m Looking Forward To… « yalitwit Says:

    […] Everfound (Skinjackers Trilogy, #3) by Neal Shusterman […]

  4. Jp Says:

    Will Zin be coming back? She was great! Can’t wait for everfound!

  5. lo Says:

    hey neal.. i translated the first chapter of unwind into italian last year for a translating competition.. it caught me so much that i couldnt help but order the book from amazon. ive gotta say its one of the best books ive ever read. so real, so well developed this whole idea of the unwinding process. and i really liked the three main characters, the way they were and the way they “grew up” throughout the story.
    i went through everlost and everwild last month and -although unwind remains my favourite- im looking forward to the third book.
    best,
    lo

  6. weston Says:

    @Caitie
    No you dont have to miss nick remeber what micky was doing at the end of the book? sculpting him. the one i will miss is zin. but im with you im like on th verge of not sleeping waiting fo this book! ugh!!!

  7. Mia Says:

    Oh my freaking god. ITS HAPPENED! EVERFOUND has had its FIRST REVIEW!
    WE should make a holiday, banks closed, schools on vacations, parades broadcasted on TV all to the HONOR OF THE FIRST EVERFOUND REVIEW!
    OMG, cant wait for the book! actually, i got Everlost last year on Easter and got EverFound when that came out too. I have come full circle. my life is complete. im sending a letter to Obama, we seriously need a reading holiday. How does that sound?

  8. Daniel Says:

    I didn’t think everwild went as far as to explain mary was on a glass coffin, I thought it ended with Milos taking out the knife and Mary saying, “Take me home, my love” Am I wrong? Is there a different version with a slightly extended ending?

  9. Runt Sanders Says:

    This just makes me even more excited! Hopefully Books-a-Million will have it set out by this weekend I’m dying to finally see what happens in the final book. I can’t be the only one who is gonna be a little sad that this great trilogy has come to an end though ><

  10. Allison Says:

    I can’t believe what happened to Mary at the end. It really took me by surprise, but at the same time, it’s exactly what would happen.
    But what ever happened to Zin?

  11. Christina Says:

    I just bought the book on my Kindle! Needless to say, I’m already halfway through it. 😀

    • Christina Says:

      Hi, it’s the same person. 🙂 I just wanted to tell you that I finished it and I nearly burst into tears near the end of the book. But I just love how everything falls into place so perfectly. Amazing job!

  12. Kim Says:

    I’m supremely glad that Kirkus gave this the accolades it deserved. I zipped through this last volume with the energy one has upon opening Christmas presents: speedy enough to be swept in the emotional turmoil, but slowly enough to savor the character development and attention to detail. Never has a novel aimed at “young adults” simultaneously brought me to so many boughts of weeping, laughter, and soul-searching. Thank you for revealing the reality and humanity that spring from stories labeled as “Fantasy”.

  13. Paige Says:

    I’m SO excited! I’m waiting for the prefect day to start reading it! But what I want to come out more than anything is Unwholly!

  14. ayshna Says:

    I just finished reading it!!!! was definitely the best book in the series!!!!! I LOVED IT!!! the ending was AMAZING!

  15. david doan II Says:

    Hi neil,
    My name is David Doan and I love your books. I Was wondering if your books are actually becoming a movie? And if they are becoming a movie let me have the part of Nick the Chocolate Ogre

  16. david doan II Says:

    Sorry I spelt your name wrong Neal

  17. #1fan Says:

    I just finished! Legendary!!
    Ps: The book is better

  18. Pedro Says:

    Yeah, after the ending of Everwild, I was literally speechless and had trouble thinking. My mind was stuck on the final scene and I could barely move. I stuttered to my sister, “Oh my GOD! Start reading NOW the ending is EPIC!” Congratulations for making the perfect cliffhangers. When I bought Everfound yesterday I couldn’t hide my grin when I held it in my hand and knew it was MINE!

  19. Dylan Says:

    love the book so much the ending was so good and sad but i loved it 🙂

  20. Storm Says:

    I love this book so much. Mr. Shusterman you have written a masterpiece. I laughed, I cried and I wanted to rip Mary Hightowers head off.

  21. Hope Says:

    Hello. Just wanted to say I enormously enjoy your books. I’m 13 and I was suggested Unwind two weeks ago by a friend who is also an avid reader. Since then I’ve read 4 of your novels. They’re wonderful! I just finished Dread Locks. I find it most intriguing how you hid the story of Goldilocks in there. Quite ironic considering that’s the way you described Tara’s hair. Unwind is my favorite so far, but there are more books left to read 

  22. Heather Says:

    Hey it’s Heather im reading part three of unwind and im writing my own book and need some tips so if you have any that would be grate. : ) : ) : )

  23. lesly Says:

    There NEEDS TO BE A MOVIE FOR Everlost, Everwild, and Everfound
    – 😀

Leave a Reply

